Brochure Science seminar 03.02.23.

National Seminar - Department of Commerce

The Department of Commerce organised a two-day national seminar on “Strategic Business Imperatives: Fostering Growth and Innovation”, on 18-19 January 2019. The programme was graced by an array of dignitaries from industry, academics and government. Dr. Vipin Aggarwal, Principal, in his opening remarks provided the comprehensive overview on the theme of the seminar. The inaugural session saw eminent personalities such as Mr. S. Ravi (Chairman, BSE); Mr. C.S. Nanda (Elected council member, ICAI); Mr. Bipin Sapra, (Tax partner, EY); Mr. Harsh Malhotra (President, Dadhichi DehDan Samiti) and Mr. Sanjay Mishra (Chairman, Governing Body). Addressing the gathering of research scholars, professors and students from various Universities in India, Mr. Sanjay Mishra stressed upon the need of taking steps that would facilitate the trickling down of high economic growth.  The presentations by speakers focused on the role of innovation in the future of companies, the importance of building sustainable business models, problems faced in the implementation of GST, implications of US-China trade war on Indian Economy. The inaugural session was followed by four technical sessions where experts from their respective fields such as Prof. Sanjay Sehgal (Head, Department of Financial Studies, University of Delhi), Prof. Muneesh Kumar (Director, NCFM), Prof. Harsh Verma (Faculty of Management Studies, University of Delhi), Mr. Atul Jain (Partner, KPMG), Dr. Masroor Ahmad Beg (Principal, Zakir Hussain College), Dr. S.P. Aggarwal (Principal, Ramanujan College), Mr. Karan Pandit (Partner, Vedya Partners), Mr. Sidharhta K. (Business Editor, Times of India), Mr. Shishir Sinha (Senior Deputy Editor, The Business Line) shared their opinion. The event concluded with remarks from Mr. Ravi Singhania (Managing Partner, Singhania and Associates), and Mr Anshuman Tiwari (Editor, India Today). Dr. Vipin Kumar Aggarwal, Principal, Sri Aurobindo College, warmly thanked all the participants for making the event a great success.